cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DA
Engaged Sweeper
I just started evaluating Lansweeper and it looks good - especially good for a free product.
Is there any documentation though beyond the pdf that comes with the download. Some basic questions have arisen for me and I'd be glad to find the answers myself if they are available.

- The pdf shows the management console but doesn't explain much about it. I located lsmanage and ran it and I'd guess that the management console is for configuring what gets outputted in the web console. Is that accurate?

- Why is mixed SQL authentication required?
- What's an "unauthorized administrator" (displayed in the Digital Dashboard)? I have eight of them and I don't know what's unauthorized about them.
- I work as a technical consultant and this software will be useful to go into a company and find out what they have. Generating a report for the company would be very useful too. Is there any capability to output reports in some user friendly form?
- Related to working with multiple companies' infrastructures, is anyone using Lansweeper to monitoring multiple remote/untrusted domains? Besides a VPN connection to the untrusted site, is there anyway to run the console at a central site and securely monitoring remote sites. Opening port 135 wouldn't seem to be a viable option.

Thanks
14 REPLIES 14
rhllc9200
Engaged Sweeper
Thanks for all yourhelp but I still have several questions to ask as I do my evaluation. Will I be able to do Remote Control with the Premium version and do all the actions in the Action screen 'cause nothing happens when I click on it on the freeware version?
Hemoco
Lansweeper Alumni
rhllc9200 wrote:
Thanks for all yourhelp but I still have several questions to ask as I do my evaluation. Will I be able to do Remote Control with the Premium version and do all the actions in the Action screen 'cause nothing happens when I click on it on the freeware version?