Learn about granting users access to your Lansweeper Site by configuring scopes, permissions, and roles.
Lansweeper Sites allows you to granularly control which users have access and control over various features and assets in your site.
There are three components that allow you to manage access to your site:
On this page:
Scopes, or asset scopes, allow you to control which assets users can view in their Lansweeper Site Inventory. If no scopes are configured, users can see every asset within their inventory. By adding scopes, you restrict the assets users are able to view.
To configure scopes:
Once your scope is created, you need to add it to a role in order to apply the scope to your desired users.
To view a list of your scopes, go to Configuration > Account management > Asset scopes.
Roles are made up of permissions and scopes. Permissions control the features that a user has access to and the actions they can take. They are configured within a role. Roles are then added to an account or account group. If no roles and permissions are configured, users will not have access to any element of your Lansweeper Site. By adding permissions and roles to users, you grant users more access to your site.
By default, Lansweeper Sites includes the following roles:
All of the default roles can be edited as needed. You can view your roles by going to Configuration > Account management > Roles & permissions.
When you create a new role or edit an existing role, you can add scopes to that role.
For scopes and permissions to apply to a user, you must assign that user with an appropriate role.
When you invite a new user, you can add the role to the user when you invite them to your site.
You can also add a role to an existing user or account group.
If multiple roles are applied to a user, various potentially conflicting permissions and scopes might be granted to the user.
In that case, the permissions from each role are combined. This means that the user has access to all the features that the permissions defined in both roles grant access to.
However, if the scopes from multiple roles are combined, then the most restrictive combination of the scope is applied to that user.
For example, imagine a user has the following roles applied:
In this case, because the permissions are combined, the user will be able to view and edit the assets that are available to them. However, because of the applied scopes, the user will only have access to servers on Installation 1 and 2.
Was this post helpful? Select Yes or No below!
Did you have a similar issue and a different solution? Or did you not find the information you needed? Create a post in our Community Forum for your fellow IT Heroes!
More questions? Browse our Quick Tech Solutions.