cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
je_richardson
Engaged Sweeper
I've been researching the forum for a while now and I don't know if it's because I'm multitasking like crazy today or if I'm just crazy but I can't figure out something. Why aren't any of the fields populating after I do the lsclient myserver? I do that command (obviously putting the server name in place of myserver) and LANSweeper sees the machine but doesn't retrieve any information from it. I can't click any of the links on the action page or anything. I just set this up today so when I say I'm a newb, I mean I'm really a newb.

Thanks!!
14 REPLIES 14
Hemoco
Lansweeper Alumni
I'll move this to the wishlist
babalou
Engaged Sweeper
I also like the Active Scan feature. I may use my site to site VPN to scan a remote subnet and cannot run the client unless it points through the VPN to my server. Most of the end users do not know about the VPN and I also block ports through the VPN. I use Spiceworks but you need to have it at multiple clients and currently, the databases are separate. I actually use it on my laptop to go into a new client, run a quick scan and then create a spreadsheet. I like the way Lansweeper looks and feels on the web page and would love to use it. I do use WSH scripts as login scripts to push printers, etc. as well as qchaining and other things. I would rather not have to add yet another util to a login script.
Hemoco
Lansweeper Alumni
how do i get it to proactively go out and do its work

It does not do this by design.
In an "average" network a lot of windows XP machines are firewalled, misconfigured, ...
With lsclient in a loginscript you can find all these machines (even the firewalled ones) and know which ones are not properly configured. (even if they only come to the network once a month)
Actively scanning is intrusive and misses all devices turned off or firewalled at the moment of scanning.
mikev
Engaged Sweeper
Lansweeper wrote: