cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mercedes_O
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hello!

Thank you to everyone who attended the live Q&A session on Scanning OT networks last week. Your participation made it a great success. For those who couldn't make it, you can watch the recording of the session here  - Virtual Meetup -OT Asset Management 

Below are some of the key questions that were discussed during the session, along with the responses from our team.

Feel free to ask any follow up questions or share your thoughts in this thread. We're here to help!

10 REPLIES 10
leandrolima
Engaged Sweeper

Dear community,

I am new to OT Cybersecurity and for that I would like your kindly pieces of advice.

I am evaluating the possibility to use Lansweeper as a tool to have my OT devices inventoried.

I would like your help to understand if during the scan to get the assets inventoried:

Could some sort of network overload happen?

Could some services running on OT side be stopped?

Could data that is being sent to enterprise environment be compromised?

Could data that is being exchanged with another automations system be corrupted?

Could the communication mentioned above be stopped?

Do you experts suggest doing it out the normal operation? I mean, when all the production line is stopped.

I really hope hearing from you as soon as possible.

Hi @leandrolima,

Thank you for reaching out to us. Here are the answers to your concerns: 

1. Network Overload: Lansweeper is designed to be efficient and minimize network load during scans. Lansweeper employs mechanisms to reduce the impact on your network, ensuring it runs smoothly.
  2. Service Interruption on OT Devices: Lansweeper's OT scanner is non-intrusive and read-only. It is designed to request the information in the same protocol that the device understand.